Oscar’s Spectacular Soup

This is my recipe for a really good soup. I hope you try it. There are a lot of vegetables included. I made this soup all by myself. I even cut the vegetables myself. We grew all the vegetables in our garden. I help take care of the garden. My soup is healthy and delicious.

Here is the recipe for my soup.
Here is the recipe for my soup.
This picture shows me cutting vegetables.
This picture shows me cutting vegetables.
IMG_2412
Here is my rough draft for the recipe.
3 thoughts on “Oscar’s Spectacular Soup

  1. Reblogged this on The Plain Satisfactions and commented:

    My son’s first blog post. He’s 7 years old. He decided a few months ago to make a soup, so I guided as little as possible and let him make all the decisions. He wrote down his recipe in his journal, and the soup tasted pretty good! Then we talked about how to improve the recipe for a final version and about the idea of making a big recipe poster as a homeschooling project. He liked the idea. He remade his soup, again with very little interference from me. The result was a delicious, simple soup, within the capabilities of a 7-year-old, and some good writing practice at the same time!

    Like

  2. Oscar’s mom here! I’ve been asked to type out Oscar’s recipe for easier reading so here it goes:
    What you’ll need:
    3 TBSP butter
    1 large onion, chopped
    2 cloves garlic, minced
    2 celery stalks, sliced
    4 carrots, sliced
    2 quarts chicken stock
    Salt & Pepper, to taste (HE FORGOT THIS!!!)
    1 TBSP parsley, chopped
    1/2 TBSP thyme, chopped
    1 C. peas
    1 C. green beans, cut into pieces
    1 C. summer squash, cut into pieces
    2 medium potatoes, peeled & cut into bite-size pieces

    What you do:
    Melt butter in large pot. Add onion, carrot, celery, garlic, sautee for several minutes until vegetables start to soften. Add remaining ingredients, bring to boil, then reduce heat to simmer. Simmer until vegetables are cooked through, about 15-20 minutes. Adjust seasonings if needed. Serve hot.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

